Surveyor’s House is a very unique double fronted period property excellently located adjacent to Westport Quay and just a short walk from Westport town centre.
The original house was built in the 1760s, in the Georgian style and has period features still intact including fireplaces and ornate plasterwork. The current owner’s family have resided in the property since 1820, originally as tenants to Lord Sligo and subsequently purchased the property in 1911.
This exceptional residence has had a number of guises in its history including a section being used as a licensed premises in the early 1900s.
The main residence comprises of entrance hallway, living room, dining room, kitchen, study, four bedrooms (one en suite) and bathroom. To the side via a small laneway is the entrance to an additional self-contained house, also with many of the original features. Its accommodation includes a large open plan kitchen/dining/sitting room, living room and two en suite bedrooms.
The currently layout of the two separate houses (under one roof) could be easily converted back into one substantial dwelling with minimal expenditure.
Externally, there is a small stone paved courtyard which can be accessed from both houses, a charming walled garden with two stone sheds and a large side courtyard with a block shed.