Youghal Lighthouse to Receive Grant
We were delighted to learn our lighthouse here in Youghal is to receive a grant of €72,500 under the government’s Town and Village scheme to enable transformation into a visitor attraction. The current lighthouse was built in 1850 and is constructed of granite. The site on which the lighthouse sits is that of a Franciscan Nunnery where, in the 13th century, the nuns were responsible for keeping the beacon alight. The original tower was seven-and-a half metres tall and three metres in diameter. The beacon was shut down 1542 and construction began again on it in 1848.
Apparently, the characteristics of the site dictate the shape and dimensions of the lighthouse. Because of the rising ground there is no need for the structure to be very tall which is typical of many land based Irish lighthouses.
The Lightkeeper’s House next door has recently been sold offering the lucky new owner both a unique home and one of the best vantage points for Youghal Bay, being at the waters edge and where the Blackwater River meets the sea.
Our Lighthouse has been for many locals and holiday makers one of the main focal points of Youghal and a destination for a summers day walk or picnic.
We are delighted the lighthouse is soon to become a more interactive element to Youghal’s many attractions.